sails for sale
us sailboat registration

US Sailboat Registration

US Sailboat Registration

Sailboat registration can be confusing to you if you are a new sailor or recently purchased a different type of sailboat. Either way, US sailboat registration is important for a number of reasons. The reason it can be confusing is because each state has a different laws and regulations for registration. Both new and used sailboats of various sizes can have specific requirements to adhere to depending on the state you’re located.

Documents You’ll Need For US Sailboat Registration in Most States

  • Proof of ownership/bill of sale; A copy of a receipt, bill of sale or consignment note that includes the following details, full name and signature of the seller, full name and address of the buyer, date of sale and the words ‘received payment in full’, or similar;
  • Title (if applicable)
  • Full description of the vessel
  • Hull identification number

*If your sailboat comes with a trailer, you’ll need to register that separately from your sailboat.

When Do You Need To Register Your Sailboat

It’s recommended to register your sailboat as soon as possible. Some states have deadlines on when you can register once the sailboat is in your possession. If you register your sailboat quickly then you won’t have any problems. Find your state and exact details on a timeline that’s relevant to you.

Typical Registration Fees You Can Expect

Registration fees are based on the length of your boat and additional fees may apply. Fees will also vary from state to state.

  • State sales tax (typically around 4%);
  • Vessel title fee;
  • Processing/admin fees;
  • The boat registration decal fee.

Find your state to below and read more about how US sailboat registration applies to where you’re located:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • PennsylvaniaRhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience possible.